Photo Gallery: Travis + Ben Ottewell @ 9:30 Club, Washington DC – November 9th 2022

Last year, Travis, the multiple Brit Award winning Scottish rock band, reissued their iconic third album, The Invisible Band, to celebrate its 20th Anniversary.  The album was released as a special edition box set, as well as a limited green vinyl pressing, standard black vinyl, and a 2-CD set. Upon its original release, The Invisible Band spent four weeks at Number One in the UK and was on the Billboard 200 Chart for seven weeks in the US.  After a year, it achieved four times platinum status. 

Hot on the heels of the album reissue, the band also announced an Invisible Band 20th Anniversary tour across North America and the United Kingdom set to take place earlier this Spring.  The tour would see The Invisible Band played in full, plus an additional set of favorites from the band’s sizeable catalog.  Unfortunately, Travis were forced to cancel their planned US tour dates when frontman Fran Healy experienced an unexpected hand injury while attempting to rescue a dog.

Luckily Fran was able to heal, and the band announced a new run of dates in the US this fall as well as the intention to return for more shows 2023.  We caught the show last Wednesday, November 9th when it stopped at the 9:30 club in Washington DC.  The performance was definitely worth the wait.  Travis were firing on all cylinders and sounded every bit as good as they did 20 years ago.  The show was opened by Mercury Music Award winning English singer-songwriter, Ben Ottewell.  Ben, who is one of the three lead singers of indie rock band Gomez, performed a captivating solo set that pulled from his solo work as well as a few Gomez songs.   

The Invisible Band Setlist:

  • Sing
  • Dear Diary
  • Side
  • Pipe Dream
  • Flowers In The Window
  • The Cage
  • Safe
  • Follow The Light
  • Last Train
  • Afterglow
  • Indefinitely
  • The Humpty Dumpty Love Song

Second Set

  • Writing To Reach You / Wonderwall
  • Selfish Jean
  • Driftwood
  • My Eyes
  • Closer
  • Turn
  • Why Does It Always Rain On Me


  • The Weight
  • U16 Girls
  • Back In Black

Travis and Ben Ottewell @ 9:30 Club
Photos © Dan Kulpa // Clashdan Photography // @clashdan

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *