Future Islands New Album 'As Long As You Are' 2020 cover artwork poster

Future Islands Release New Album “As Long As You Are”

Per the official press release –

Today, Future Islands have released their sixth album As Long As You Are. Earlier this week, the band launched As Long As You Are Listening, Together, an interactive real-time cooperative listening event, and performed ‘For Sure’ on The Late Show with Stephen Colbert.

Stream/buy As Long As You Are here +

Tonight, to celebrate the release of As Long As You Are, Future Islands will perform their only show of 2020. The Baltimore group have been road warriors for over a decade, touring extensively every year without fail, but 2020 is the first year the band will not hit the road since 2008. Instead, for their 1,235th live show, the group will move online for a one-off global livestream event tonight, 9 October. “A Stream of You and Me” will be filmed in Maryland and feature a bespoke one-off light show created by light artist Pierre Claude (The Strokes, Phoenix, Gesaffelstein). The broadcast will be directed by Michael Garber (Phoenix, Bon Iver, Kamasi Washington).

+ Watch the trailer in the player below, get tickets here +

As Long As You Are looks to the past as well as the future, confronting old ghosts and embracing a new hope. It is an album about trust, full of honesty, redemption and “letting go”, allowing old wounds to heal and bringing painful chapters to a close. The album features the singles ‘Born In A War’, ‘Moonlight’, ‘Thrill’ and ‘For Sure’. Signalling a new era for Future Islands, touring drummer Mike Lowry officially joins as a fully-fledged member and songwriter bolstering the founding trio of William Cashion, Samuel T. Herring and Gerrit Welmers. Together, the four-piece took on official production duties for the first time, co-producing As Long As You Are with engineer Steve Wright at his Wrightway Studios in Baltimore. Given time to allow the songs to slowly come to life, these 11 new songs of  post wave synth-pop are as euphoric and uninhibitedly joyful as anything the band has done in their 14-year career.

As Long As You Are is available digitally, on CD, standard black vinyl, petrol blue vinyl (4AD and indie stores only), fluorescent orange vinyl (band store only) and cassette (4AD Store, band store and US indies only). 


  1. Glada
  2. For Sure
  3. Born in a War
  4. I Knew You
  5. City’s Face
  6. Waking
  7. The Painter
  8. Plastic Beach
  9. Moonlight
  10. Thrill
  11. Hit the Coast
Future Islands New Album 'As Long As You Are' 2020 cover artwork poster

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Stories
jfl northwest 2019 festival banner
JFL NorthWest 2019: The Todd Glass Show @ The Fox Cabaret – February 21, 2019