Nothing But Thieves New Album; "Dead Club City" 2023 cover art

Nothing But Thieves New Album; “Dead Club City”

Dead Club City, the fourth studio album by Nothing But Thieves, has generated significant buzz since its release. The album features the hit single “Overcome,” which has already garnered over 7 million global streams and is receiving airplay on U.S. Alternative Radio, SiriusXM Alt Nation, and Elton John’s Rocket Hour Radio Show on Apple Music. The band’s highest charting track to date, “Welcome To The DCC,” is also included on the album, accumulating over 16 million global streams. Another exciting addition is the new song “Keeping You Around,” set for release later this week. With a remarkable lineup of features on major playlists and radio shows, Dead Club City has firmly established Nothing But Thieves as a force to be reckoned with in the rock music scene.

Opening with the confident and punchy track “Welcome To The DCC,” the album sets the stage for a more sonically diverse sound from the band. Combining rock with experimental funk elements and 80s influences, the song builds anticipation before breaking into a soaring chorus filled with upbeat synths. “Overcome,” the latest release from the album, is an epic pop track with a touch of nostalgia that captivates listeners with its modern and unique sound. Backed by anthemic melodies and 80s synths, the song culminates in an uplifting and euphoric chorus that mirrors the album’s themes of escapism, hope, and new beginnings. It’s a road trip anthem reminiscent of Don Henley’s “Boys of Summer,” infused with the spirit of the Essex coast.

With Dead Club City, Nothing But Thieves embarks on an innovative new chapter. The album showcases the fictional Dead Club City, a city-sized, members-only club that serves as a focal point for the album’s narrative and concept. The 11-track album explores different characters and story arcs within and around the city, touching on themes such as advertisement, unity, internet culture, music industry dynamics, ageing, and politics. As the band delves into the alienation and privilege of a members-only club, they invite listeners to ponder real-world interpretations of Dead Club City. Recorded and self-produced by guitarist Dominic Craik, the album brims with big ideas, pop hooks, soul flourishes, hip hop beats, crunchy riffs, and lead vocalist Conor Mason’s remarkable and slinky falsetto.

Nothing But Thieves’ live performances have always been a highlight, and they continue to captivate audiences with their energy and passion. Following a successful summer tour in Europe, the band is set to embark on the Welcome To The DCC World Tour in North America this fall. Presented by Live Nation and featuring support from Kid Kapichi, the 18-date headlining tour kicks off on September 12th and has already sold out multiple dates, including notable cities like Brooklyn, Los Angeles, and Toronto. In addition to their headlining tour, Nothing But Thieves will be performing at renowned festivals such as Louder Than Life and Aftershock. This new era for the band marks a vital and adventurous phase in their career, and fans eagerly welcome them to Dead Club City.

Full list of Nothing But Thieves tour dates.

Dead Club City Tracklist

  1. Welcome to the DCC
  2. Overcome
  3. Tomorrow Is Closed
  4. Keeping You Around
  5. City Haunts
  6. Do You Love Me Yet?
  7. Members Only
  8. Green Eyes :: Siena
  9. Foreign Language
  10. Talking To Myself
  11. Pop The Balloon

  1. Pretty decent album — I just hope we can still see these guys at smaller venues like the Imperial (or even the Vogue).

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *