sturgill simpson cuttin grass 2020 album cover art

Sturgill Simpson’s New Album “Cuttin’ Grass Vol. 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions” Out Now

Per the official press release –

Sturgill Simpson’s surprise double bluegrass album, Cuttin’ Grass Vol 1 – The Butcher Shoppe Sessions is out now digitally on High Top Mountain Records via Thirty Tigers/The Orchard. Produced by David Ferguson, the single I Don’t Mind is an unreleased fan favorite. Vinyl preorder available now for release December 11, 2020. Listen HERE 

Simpson returns to the music of his native Kentucky with his first bluegrass project which he calls “a mixtape for the fans.” Dreamed up while he was home recovering from Coronavirus, Simpson reimagines songs from his catalogue backed by some of Nashville’s finest acoustic virtuosos or as he refers to them “bona fide wizards.” “I had it in my mind for a long time that someday I want to cut as many of these songs as possible in this fashion, just organic and stripped down to the raw bones of the composition. If you can’t sit down and play a song like that, it’s probably a pretty shittysong.” 

Sturgill Simpson talks about Cuttin’Grass HERE


  1. All Around You
  2. All The Pretty Colors
  3. Breaker’s Roar
  4. I Don’t Mind
  5. I Wonder
  6. Just Let Go
  7. Life Ain’t Fair and The World Is Mean
  8. A Little Light
  9. Life of Sin
  10. Long White Line
  11. Living The Dream
  12. Old King Coal
  13. Railroad of Sin
  14. Sitting Here Without You
  15. Sometimes Wine
  16. The Storm­­­
  17. Time After All
  18. Turtles All The Way Down
  19. Voices
  20. Water In A Well
sturgill simpson cuttin grass 2020 album cover art

You can also check out Sturgil Simpson’s official “Make Art Not Friends” video – from the album and Netflix Original Anime film: SOUND & FURY – available now

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

More Stories
Sasquatch! Music Festival 2016 at The Gorge