Music Videos

The Avett Brothers Release New Single “I Go To My Heart”

Per the official press release –

Three-time GRAMMY Award-nominees The Avett Brothers share “I Go To My Heart,” the second single from their highly-anticipated new album The Third Gleam, out August 28 on American Recordings/Loma Vista Recordings. “I Go To My Heart” is both sonically and emotionally stripped-back, turning to love in moments of hardship and pleading for redemption. Listen to “I Go To My Heart” here, and watch its video here.

“I Go To My Heart” and previously released single “Victory,” which Paste declared one of “The Best Songs of July 2020,” are available instantly upon preordering The Third Gleam here. The album will be released on CD and digitally August 28, with vinyl available September 18. While written and recorded ahead of the pandemic and most recent social reform movements, the eight song collection addresses themes of injustice, incarceration, and mortality, as well as resilience, love, and hope that resonate strongly today. In the band’s album statement, Seth and Scott share that The Third Gleam is “merely the sound of my brother and I in a room, singing about what is on our minds and in our hearts at the time…sharing it now is about what sharing art is always about: another chance that we may partake in connecting with our brothers and sisters of this world, and hopefully joining you in noticing a speck of light gleaming in what appears to be a relatively long and dark night.”

The Avett Brothers will celebrate the release of The Third Gleam with a sold-out hometown show at the Charlotte Motor Speedway on August 29, performing new music live for the first time on the speedway’s backstretch. Fans will experience the concert socially distanced from their vehicles, and the stage will be broadcast on the speedway’s 16,000 square-foot television screen. For those unable to attend in person, the band has partnered with to livestream the concert as a Pay-Per-View event. For more information, visit

The Third Gleam track list

1. Victory
2. I Should’ve Spent The Day With My Family
3. Prison To Heaven
4. Back Into The Light
5. Women Like You
6. Untitled #4
7. I Go To My Heart
8. The Fire

The Avett Brothers Release New Single “I Go To My Heart”
To Top