The Blue Stones Hidden Gems album cover art 2021

The Blue Stones’ Sophomore Album ‘Hidden Gems’

Per the official press release –

Alternative-rock duo The Blue Stones have released their highly-anticipated sophomore album, Hidden Gems, out today on Entertainment One (eOne). Across the ten songs on the album, the band pairs rock anthems built to be played in a stadium with layered, R&B leaning numbers and moody, grunge tracks. On Hidden Gems, the band worked with famed producer Paul Meany (Mutemath, Twenty One Pilots, LANY), who helped the duo explore and create music in a new way, as well as discover themselves throughout the writing process. Composed of Tarek Jafar (vocals/guitar) and Justin Tessier (drums/vocals), the band learned confidence and strength-of-self. This personal growth led to their most honest lyrics to date, tackling accepting your strengths and weaknesses, dealing with heartbreak, and the reality of bad habits. 

Album opener “Lights On” serves as a perfect introduction to the diverse sound found across Hidden Gems, before kicking into hit single “Shakin’ Off The Rust” which charted Top 5 at U.S. radio on the Billboard Mainstream Rock chart and has nearly 15 million streams worldwide. As the record continues, the band brings in a smooth and funky vibe through a mix of keys and 808 kick drums on songs like “Careless”, “L.A. Afterlife” and “Make This Easy”. “Let It Ride” sets course as an explosive rock anthem, while the album ends with the bouncy, indie-rock driven “Oceans”. On Hidden Gems, the band have crafted something that shimmers with such purity and truth – musically and lyrically – that you can’t help but be swept up and carried off by these songs. The Blue Stones have redefined who they are, but at the same time ensured they kept their identity intact, making them one of alternative rock’s most exciting acts.

You can stream Hidden Gems here now and purchase the album through the band’s webstore

In celebration of the release of the album, The Blue Stones will be performing a stripped-down session on Amazon Music’s Twitch Channel on March 23rd at 1PM ET. Tarek will be performing select tracks from Hidden Gems and there will be a Q&A session with Tarek and Justin to follow.

‘Hidden Gems’ Tracklist

  1. Lights On
  2. Shakin’ Off The Rust
  3. One By One
  4. Careless
  5. Grim
  6. Let It Ride
  7. L.A. Afterlife
  8. Spirit
  9. Make This Easy
  10. Oceans
The Blue Stones  Hidden Gems album cover art 2021

Listen to ‘Spirit’ on Youtube:

Your email address will not be published.